### $\star \star \star$

## **Honorary Certificate Recipients**

Derrick Clay, 2001	Aaron Pickrell, 2013
Robert Paduchik, 2001	Thomas Whatman, 2013
Jim Ruvolo, 2003	Greg Haas, 2015
James Tilling, 2003	Doug Preisse, 2015
Jerry Austin, 2005	Tom Beres, 2017
Mark Weaver, 2005	Howard Wilkinson, 2017
Neil Clark, 2007	Lynnie Powell, 2019
Paul Tipps, 2007	Jane Timken, 2019
Jo Ann Davidson, 2009	Teri Geiger, 2021
Harry Meshel, 2009	Dannette Palmore, 2021
Michael Curtin, 2011	Janet Weir Creighton, 2023
William Hershey, 2011	Mary Ellen Withrow, 2023

## The Bliss Institute of Applied Politics

The University of Akron's Ray C. Bliss Institute of Applied Politics is a bipartisan research, teaching, and experiential learning institute dedicated to increasing understanding of the political process with special emphasis on political parties, grassroots activity, civility and ethics, and hands-on learning through internships and events.

Visit uakron.edu/bliss to learn more about the Bliss Institute.

The University of Akron is an Equal Education and Employment Institution – uakron.edu/eeo © 2025 by The University of Akron / AS-0525-1913



# Honorary Certificate of Applied Politics Reception



- FEATURING -

Karen Kasler and Colleen Marshall

May 13, 2025

# Karen Kasler



Karen Kasler grew up in Lancaster, attended Otterbein College in Westerville, and found her professional break at WCBE-FM in Columbus. Karen was selected as a Fellow in the Kiplinger Master's Degree Program for Mid-Career Journalists at Ohio State University in 1994. She worked at WTVN-AM and WBNS-TV, both in Columbus, then for eight years was the afternoon drive anchor and assignment editor for WTAM-AM, Cleveland.

Since returning to Columbus in 2004, Karen has covered major elections and the controversies surrounding them. She served as moderator for the Ohio Debate Commission's Republican US Senate debate in 2022, its Supreme Court debate in 2020 and its gubernatorial debate in 2018. In addition to other election-related debates, she's led forums on statewide issues including redistricting, tax policy, drug sentencing, marijuana legalization and the collective bargaining law known as Senate Bill 5.

She's produced stories for NPR, PBS NewsHour and "Marketplace", and has been interviewed by NPR, PBS, Fox News, the BBC, CBS, NBC, Radio New Zealand and stations around the country. She's a regular panelist on ideastream's "The Sound of Ideas", and is a frequent guest on "Columbus on the Record" and "All Sides with Amy Juravich" on WOSU Public Media and WVXU's "Cincinnati Edition".



**Colleen Marshall** 

Colleen Marshall anchors NBC4 at 6, 7 and 11 p.m. and the political program "NBC4's The Spectrum."

Colleen received a national Gracie Award from the Alliance for Women in Media for reports detailing the sexual abuse of hundreds of young men by an Ohio State University doctor. In 2018 Colleen was named a Silver Circle honoree by the National Association of Television Arts and Sciences, an award given to individuals who have devoted at least 25 years to broadcasting. She received nine regional Emmy

awards, including for political reporting on state budget cuts at the Bureau of Children with Medical Handicaps, for "The Fight for Ohio" covering the 2004 presidential race, and multiple Emmys for an annual program detailing her mother's battle with Alzheimer's. She has also received reporting awards from the Associated Press and the Ohio Society of Professional Journalists.

Colleen has been recognized for community service by The Alzheimer's Association, Stonewall Columbus, The American Red Cross, Make-A-Wish, the Columbus Gay Men's Chorus, St. Vincent DePaul, Women for Economic Leadership Development, and the Columbus AIDS Task Force. She has served on a number of non-profit boards, including CATF, the Columbus Metropolitan Club and the Alzheimer's Association.

#### **Presentation of Honorary Certificates**

J. CHERIE STRACHAN Director, Bliss Institute of Applied Politics

Remarks KAREN KASLER COLLEEN MARSHALL

**Bliss Institute Professional Network Remarks** 

**GREG BENNETT** 

**Closing Remarks** 

J. CHERIE STRACHAN Director, Bliss Institute of Applied Politics